Jim Strandlund Named State Liaison in New IGSHPA Initiative

In the January 2016 issue of The Loop, the IGSHPA (International Ground Source Heat Pump Association) announced a new initiative in which they are in the process of implementing. The IGSHPA is building a liaison group consisting of geothermal professionals and organizations from each state to help facilitate communications and the free flow of information between them.

The primary objective is, "...to learn how the IGSHPA and other states can support each other in state-level legislative efforts." The state organization representing Minnesota will be the MNGHPA (Minnesota Geothermal Heat Pump Association). The individual presently named as MN State Liaison is Founding MNGHPA member and Past President Jim Strandlund, whose job will be to, "facilitate a bidirectional flow of information between state Geo-groups," including the MNGHPA.
Jim Strandlund and his company, Strandlund Geothermal, Heating, Refrigeration & Cooling is a leader in providing geothermal systems, installation and service in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Jim is a geothermal designer who provides design and installation of geothermal systems, as well as providing services as a Certified Geothermal Inspector.

IGSHPA Members Can Vote!

Only recently did IGSHPA change its bylaws to include individual geothermal professionals along with its corporate members. And now, for the first time, IGSHPA's individual members also get to vote.

More than that, we're happy to announce that our own Jim Strandlund is a candidate for the General Membership seat on the IGSHPA Board of Directors. In addition to Jim, you'll find several familiar names, including several who have spoken at our conference.

Your voice counts. Be sure to cast your ballot by logging on to your IGSHPA account and voting for your four choices among the candidates below. You can click on any link below to access individual background information. Voting will close at 5:00 p.m. on March 1, 2016.

Candidates for each sector are as follows:

Kerry Rowland, Public Service Company of Oklahoma
Mark Faulkenberry, Western Farmers Electric Cooperative
Ray Chambers, Central Rural Electric Cooperative

Product Distributor
Cary Smith, Sound Geothermal
Richard Hiles, Carrier

General Membership
Dave Bowers, ASIP Local 150
Jack DiEnna, Geothermal National & International Initiative
James Strandlund, Strandlund Refrigeration
Mike Foran, Energy 1 LLC
Richard Marshall, Strang Heating and Electric
Sheri Rice, Fire & Ice Geothermal Heating & Cooling

Don Penn, Don Penn Consulting Engineer/IEG Ltd.
José Acuna Sequera, KTH Energiteknik
Mark Metzner, CSA Group, Inc.
Michael Hadley, Climate Control Heating & Cooling Co.
Ray Bayliff, Fire & Ice Geothermal Heating & Cooling
Richard Gordon, Gordon & Associates, Inc.